NewsLocal News


City of Wyoming issues sprinkler ban, affects 9 townships, 4 cities

The repair will temporarily reduce the capacity of the water system.
Posted at 3:53 PM, Aug 07, 2020

WYOMING, Mich. — The City of Wyomig declared a Level Three Water Emergency this Friday afternoon, due to a water transmission main repair, effective on Tuesday, August 11, at 6:00 a.m.

This ban includes all outdoor irrigation within all communities served by the City of Wyoming Water System.

The repair will temporarily reduce the capacity of the water system.

By following the Sprinkling Ban, water customers will help protect the water system during this emergency repair.

The communities included in the Sprinkling Ban are as follows:

  • Zeeland Township
  • Park Township
  • Olive Township
  • Blendon Township
  • Holland Township
  • Georgetown Township
  • Jamestown Township
  • Byron Township
  • Gaines Township
  • City of Hudsonville
  • City of Grandville
  • A portion of the city of Kentwood
  • City of Wyoming

“Water remains safe and drinkable so long as the water pressure is maintained,” says Director of Public Works Myron Erickson, "The emergency repair itself doesn't impact water quality. However, low system pressure may impact water quality due to cross connections. That's why it is incredibly important to follow this temporary sprinkling ban."

Currently, the City of Wyoming water facilities are pumping at maximum rates to meet peak summer demand. With only one water transmission line active, the water system cannot maintain the high water demand caused by summer irrigation.

Due to this extreme water emergency, the City of Wyoming will be issuing municipal civil infractions to any violators of the Sprinkling Ban within the City of Wyoming.

The Sprinkling Ban will be in effect until further notice.

For more information, visit or contact the Wyoming Water Office at (616) 530-7390 or the Wyoming Water Plant at (616) 399-6511.

Residents of the customer communities of the Wyoming Water System may also contact their respective communities' water office.