Police Brought In to Handle Line For Section 8 Housing

Posted at 12:04 PM, Mar 24, 2014
and last updated 2014-03-24 13:29:44-04

Monday morning

WYOMING, Mich. – Police were called to the Wyoming Housing Commission building Monday morning for crowd control after arguing and problems ensued in a line of more than 1,000 people.

People – some with their children – began lining up in extremely cold temperatures outside of the building, 2450 36th Street SW, Wyoming, to apply for Section 8 housing as early as 3 a.m.

FOX 17 was contacted by some of those in line after allegations of fighting and people cutting in the line.  At one point, crime tape went up to keep people in line.

When our crews arrived, FOX 17’s Jessica McMaster witnessed constant bickering and arguing.

“It’s like Hunger Games that there’s people pushing…people being beligerant,” one woman said.

Tensions were high because we are told the wait to receive Section 8 housing could take between two to five years before being called back for a voucher, and also because it’s the first time since 2010 since the waiting list was opened.

There were no arrests, said police.

According to the Wyoming Housing Commission’s website:

The Wyoming Housing Commission (WHC) owns 195 public housing units. They are located at Westwood Apartments, Waldon Woods and at several other locations throughout Wyoming. Individuals and families pay rent based upon their income directly to the WHC.

The WHC administers approximately 1,100 Housing Choice Vouchers (Section-8) within Kent County and part of Ottawa County. The families and individuals who receive the vouchers pay a portion of their income for rent and the WHC pays the remainder (up to the limits set by HUD (Housing and Urban Development)) directly to the landlords each month.

The Housing Commission board meets every third Tuesday (except April and July) at 1:00 p.m. in the Community Room at Westwood Apartments, 2450 36th St. S.W.   The board members consist of Gerald Snyder, Board Chair; Barb VanDuren, Vice-Chair; Donald Dykstra; and Ron Dressander.