Allegan, Iron Counties Added To Governor’s Disaster Declaration

Posted at 3:28 PM, Jun 21, 2013
and last updated 2013-06-21 15:28:19-04
Swan lake campground allegan3

Swan Lake Campground Allegan

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder announced the Michigan State Police has amended a recent disaster declaration to include both Allegan and Iron counties to support ongoing response and recovery efforts after severe flooding impacted Michigan’s Upper and Lower Peninsulas from April 16 to May 14.

The counties were added to the disaster declaration because ongoing assessments have uncovered additional damages that were not previously known when the declaration was originally issued. Public Act 390 of 1976 allows the director of the Michigan State Police, or his or her designee, to amend a disaster declaration with the concurrence of the governor.

The Michigan Department of Transportation also made a request for the addition to ensure the two counties would be eligible for road infrastructure funding for repairs under the Federal Highway Administration Emergency Relief Program.

Snyder declared a state of disaster on May 7 for 19 counties and two cities to ensure that all possible resources, in accordance with the Michigan Emergency Management Plan, would be provided to assist the local response to the flooding. Along with cities of Grand Rapids and Ionia, the governor’s disaster declaration also covers the following counties: Baraga, Barry, Benzie, Genesee, Gogebic, Gratiot, Houghton, Ionia, Kent, Keweenaw, Marquette, Mecosta, Midland, Muskegon, Newaygo, Ontonagon, Osceola, Ottawa and Saginaw.

In addition to Snyder’s disaster declaration, President Barack Obama declared 16 Michigan counties as a major disaster on June 18. The affected counties are Allegan, Barry, Baraga, Gogebic, Houghton, Ionia, Kent, Keweenaw, Marquette, Midland, Muskegon, Newaygo, Ontonagon, Osceola, Ottawa and Saginaw.

The president’s declaration provides public assistance grants for affected state and local governments as they rebuild roads, bridges and other public facilities and infrastructure. Additionally, communities statewide are eligible for the for the hazard mitigation assistance program to help reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards.