NewsLocal NewsLakeshoreMuskegon


Disaster assistance approved for five West Michigan counties

Posted at 9:06 AM, Jun 30, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-30 09:06:04-04

WASHINGTON D.C. — Businesses and residents in five counties in Michigan impacted the extensive flooding in mid-May are now eligible for disaster assistance.

The U.S. Small Business Administration announced Tuesday it approved a request from Governor Whitmer for a disaster declaration. Businesses and people living in Muskegon, Kent, Newaygo, Oceana, and Ottawa counties can apply for loans to repair or replace things damaged in the flooding from May 18.

The SBA is only accepting applications online, due to the coronavirus pandemic. However a virtual outreach center has been set up to assist any applicants. It is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The center is reachable by phone at (571) 422-8013 or by email,