NewsLocal NewsMichigan


Disaster loans available for flood damage in five West Michigan counties

Posted at 12:14 PM, Jun 30, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-30 12:14:36-04

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Small Business Administration has responded to a request from Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and declared disasters in Muskegon, Ottawa, Kent, Newaygo, and Oceana counties due to flooding caused by heavy rains in May 2020. The move allows businesses, homeowners, and renters to apply for disaster loans.

“Loans up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate,” said Kem Fleming, center director of SBA’s Field Operations Center East in Atlanta, in a release. “Homeowners and renters are eligible for loans up to $40,000 to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property.”

Going through the process will not be allowed in person due to coronavirus. Instead, information and assistance will be available through webinars, by phone, and via Skype.

Disaster loan assistance begins at this web page

  • A Virtual Disaster Loan Outreach Center has been established, open Mondays through Fridays (except July 3, in observance of Independence Day), 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • The email address is
  • Phone 571-422-8013 or 571-422-0331

Completed applications should be mailed:

U.S. Small Business Administration
Processing and Disbursement Center
14925 Kingsport Road
Fort Worth, TX 76155.

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is Aug. 28, 2020. The deadline to return economic injury applications is March 29, 2021.