DNR bans open burning in 15 Mid-Michigan counties

Posted at 3:47 AM, Mar 24, 2018
and last updated 2018-03-24 03:47:04-04

LANSING, Mich. — The state DNR has banned open burning across 15 counties.

The ban prohibits the burning of leaves and debris, including fires in burn barrels.

The DNR says the likelihood of any type of open fire spreading is high.

The ban stretches from Saginaw Bay to Muskegon.

Some of the West Michigan counties in the ban include Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana.