Ferris State’s Vander Laan makes history, wins second Harlon Hill Trophy

Posted at 2:27 PM, Dec 18, 2015

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. — Being named the top player in Division II football in any year already had Jason Vander Laan sitting among elite company.

Getting that honor a second time may grant him legendary status.

Ferris State’s all-everything quarterback and the NCAA all-division QB rushing leader won his second Harlon Hill Trophy on Friday afternoon, making him just the fourth player in D-II history to receive the award in multiple seasons. He joins Texas A&I’s Johnny Bailey (3), Valdosta State’s Dusty Bonner (2), and Chadron State’s Danny Woodhead (2) in that exclusive fraternity.

Vander Laan accounted for 4,167 total offensive yards and 51 touchdowns for Ferris State in 2015, leading the Bulldogs to a second straight undefeated regular season and GLIAC championship.