Fleck named MAC COTY, Franklin wins Offensive POTY

Posted at 11:22 AM, Dec 03, 2014
and last updated 2014-12-03 11:25:31-05

KALAMAZOO, Mich. — The biggest turnaround in Western Michigan football history has gotten the attention of the Mid-American Conference.

The MAC named P.J. Fleck the conference’s coach of the year on Wednesday – after the 34-year-old led the Broncos from a 1-11 season in 2013 to an 8-4 campaign in 2014 — the best one-year improvement in MAC history. Fleck is the first WMU coach to win the honor since Bill Cubit in 2005.

Freshman tailback Jarvion Franklin continued to make history in his first collegiate season, earning MAC Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors. It is the first time in conference history that a player has won the two awards in the same year. Franklin rushed for a MAC freshman record 1,525 yards and scored 25 total touchdowns. His 24 rushing scores is a school record – and third-most for a single season in MAC history. He is Western Michigan’s first conference player of the year since Greg Jennings in 2005.

The Broncos also boast 11 players on all-conference teams, including Franklin, wide receiver Corey Davis, and cornerback Donald Celiscar on the first-team.

Quarterback Zach Terrell, offensive lineman Willie Beavers earned second-team honors, while offensive lineman James Kristof, wide receiver Daniel Braverman, cornerback Ronald Zamort, safety Justin Currie, punter J. Schroeder, and return specialist Darius Phillips were named to the third team.

Western Michigan is awaiting bowl invitations and should accept a trip over the weekend.