MSU Defeats Michigan to Win Big Ten Tournament

Posted at 5:35 PM, Mar 16, 2014
and last updated 2014-03-16 17:46:08-04

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (March 16, 2014) — Michigan may have the regular season bragging rights, but the postseason bragging rights belong to Michigan State.

The Spartans defeated the Wolverines 69-55 in the Big Ten tournament championship game. It is their fourth Big Ten tournament title.

Michigan jumped out to an early 9-4 lead, but then the Spartans went on a 12-0 run to take the lead and they never gave it back. Gary Harris led the Spartans in the first half with 13 points. He finished with 15 as he spent a large portion of the second half on the bench dealing with a shoulder issue. The Spartans led 38-29 at the break.

Adreian Payne led all players with 18 points and 9 rebounds. Branden Dawson added 15 points.

Dawson was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

Nik Stauskas led the Wolverines with 17, but 13 of those points came in the first half. Derrick Walton, Jr. was the only other Wolverine scoring in double-figures with 11.

The Spartans are now 26-8 while the Wolverines are now 25-8.