Several Spartans and Wolverines Named To All-Big Ten Teams

Posted at 7:32 PM, Dec 02, 2013
and last updated 2013-12-03 05:56:00-05

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten announced its All-Conference First and Second Teams Monday, along with the winners of 10 individual awards.

The conference will announce the winners of five more individual awards Tuesday.

Both Michigan State and Michigan had several players on the All-Big Ten teams. The Big Ten recognizes First and Second Teams from both the coaches and the media.

For the Spartans, All-Big Ten Coaches First Team members: DL Shilique Calhoun, LB Max Bulluogh, DB Darqueze Dennard, DB Kurtis Drummond, DB Isaiah Lewis, P Mike Sadler. Michigan State’s Coaches Second Team members are: QB Connor Cook, OG Blake Treadwell, LB Denicos Allen.

The Spartans All-Big Ten Media First Team members: DL Shilique Calhoun, LB Max Bulluogh, DB Darqueze Dennard. Michigan State’s Media Second Team members are: C Jack Allen, OG Blake Treadwell, LB Denicos Allen, DB Kurtis Drummond, P Mike Sadler

For the Wolverines, left tackle Taylor Lewan was the team’s only First Team selection by the Big Ten Coaches. Second Team members selected by the Coaches: WR Jeremy Gallon, TE Devin Funchess, DL Frank Clark, DB Blake Countess.

Michigan’s All-Big Ten Media First Team members are: OT Taylor Lewan, TE Devin Funchess, DB Blake Countess. WR Jeremy Gallon was named a Second Team member by the media.

Below are the individual winners of Big Ten awards:

  • Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: Braxton Miller, Ohio State
  • Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: Allen Robinson, Penn State
  • Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Carlos Hyde, Ohio State
  • Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Devin Funchess, Michigan
  • Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: Taylor Lewan, Michigan
  • Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State
  • Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Chris Borland, Wisconsin
  • Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
  • Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Jeff Budzien, Northwestern
  • Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Cody Webster, Purdue