Johnny Manziel Wins 2012 Heisman Trophy

Posted at 9:09 PM, Dec 08, 2012
and last updated 2012-12-08 21:23:19-05

NEW YORK — History was made at the Downtown Athletic Club in Manhattan.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to ever win the Heisman Trophy. Manziel beat out Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o and Kansas State’s Collin Klein. Te’o was trying to become the first defensive-only player to ever win the honor, which goes to college football’s most outstanding player for the season.

Manziel joins John David Crow as the only players from Texas A&M to win the Heisman. Crow, a halfback, won the award in 1957.

Manziel finished the regular season with 4,600 total yards on offense and 43 total touchdowns (24 passing, 19 rushing). Nicknamed Johnny Football, Manziel’s signature moment came when the Aggies handed Alabama its only loss of the season in Tuscaloosa.